Miner 2049er – Game Boy – Mindscape


The Game Boy version released in the USA in 1991 by Mindscape.

This release marks the sharp divide between the classic retro gameplay and visuals of the original, segueing into the visual style featured in all of the modern remakes.

The levels scroll around as you move, so you can’t see the whole level at once. They are actually a mishmash of 10 levels from both Miner 2049er and Bounty Bob Strikes Back (mostly BBSB!). Here’s a breakdown:

1: The Slides (Miner 2049er level 2)
2: The Transporters (Miner 2049er level 3)
3: Calisthenics (BBSB level 1)
4: Utility Hoist (BBSB level 2)
5: The Suction Tubes (BBSB level 3)
6: Bob’s Playroom (BBSB level 4)
7: Jumping 101 (BBSB level 5)
8: Yukon’s Penthouse (BBSB level 7)
9: Luxury Transporters (BBSB level 8 )
10: Acid Rain (BBSB level 12)

References to two more levels are in the game’s ROM but the levels aren’t actually there. (Advanced Cannon and Pulverizers).

If you’re wondering why Bob shows up four times in our screen shots, it’s because we’ve mapped each level by taking a screen shot of all four corners of the level and then stitched them together in Photoshop for your viewing pleasure.

One thought on “Miner 2049er – Game Boy – Mindscape

  1. Pingback: Miner 2049er Prototype – Game Boy – Mindscape | The Miner2049er Museum

Leave a Reply